Regulations for the Jerzy Pogonowski Student Essay Competition

- 1. The Jerzy Pogonowski Student Essay Competition (hereafter: the Competition) is addressed to students of the Faculty of Psychology and Cognitive Science at Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań.
- 2. Essays submitted to the Competition must address topics within the scope of cognitive science. The submitted essays may have been originally written as part of a thesis project or as coursework for any subject offered as part of studies conducted at the Faculty of Psychology and Cognitive Science at Adam Mickiewicz University.
- 3. Essays submitted to the Competition must include a title, abstract, at least three keywords, and a bibliography. The essay itself should consist of a minimum of 1,500 words and a maximum of 7,000 words, excluding the title, abstract, keywords, and bibliography. Essays may be written in either Polish or English.
- Participants in the Competition must submit their essays along with a brief review by a scientific supervisor (e.g., a course instructor or thesis advisor, as mentioned in point 2). The scientific supervisor must be an employee of Adam Mickiewicz University.
- 5. Essays and accompanying reviews must be submitted electronically to the address and by the deadline specified in the Competition announcement.
- 6. Essays submitted without a review by a scientific supervisor, incomplete in other ways, or submitted after the deadline will not be considered in the Competition.
- 7. The Competition Committee (hereafter: the Committee) consists of three individuals selected from among the staff of the Faculty of Psychology and Cognitive Science at Adam Mickiewicz University. The Committee is appointed by the Dean of the Faculty of Psychology and Cognitive Science, who also designates the Chair of the Committee.
- 8. From the submitted essays, the Committee selects ten essays to be published in the WPiK Open Access series.
- 9. The Committee reserves the right to select a different number of essays than ten.
- 10. From the selected essays, the Committee designates one whose author(s) will receive the Jerzy Pogonowski Award. The winner of the Competition is the recipient of the Jerzy Pogonowski Award. The authors of the remaining essays selected for publication will receive honorable mentions in the Competition.